Indian cycling team consisting of Esnow Alben, L Ronaldo Singh, Y Rojit Singh and  Jemsh Singh for the first time claims gold at Junior Track Cycling World Championship in Frankfurt, Germany.

This is the first time Indian cycling team won gold at a major event. India didn’t have a good start as they were trailing after the first lap by 0.244 second. However, things changed from second round on wards. In round 2, the Indian cycling team reduced the time gap against Australia to 0.030 second and then produced a spectacular effort in the third round to write page of their own in the annals of Indian cycling history.

Esow Alben, who is currently the top-ranked junior cyclist in the world in the spirit and keirin events, had created history in 2018 when he won a silver medal in the men’s keirin event at the Junior Track Cycling World Championships in Angie, Switzerland.

The Junior Indian cycling team is currently ranked number two in the world. They finished with a total time of 44.625 seconds. The Australian team, who were leading in the first two laps, was left stunned as India finished in the last lap in just 12.915 seconds to win gold.

Earlier in the day, the Indian team had finished first in the team sprint qualifiers, clocking 45.094 seconds to finish ahead of Australia.

Source: News Agencies


The information contained in this article is for educational and informational purposes only and is not intended as a health advice. We would ask you to consult a qualified professional or medical expert to gain additional knowledge before you choose to consume any product or perform any exercise.


Aspiring journalist working for and exploring the juncture of sports, business and technology. Interested in sports economy and logistics of sports policy-making.

Write A Comment

13 + 19 =


By navigating our site, you agree to allow us to use cookies, in accordance with our Privacy Policy.