Former Indian skipper, Anil Kumble-led ICC Cricket Committee will discuss issues relating to the World Cup final, including the controversial boundary count back rule, in their next meeting.
International Cricket Council General Manager, cricket, Geoff Allardice said, “The cricket committee will consider any issues arising from the World Cup final when it meets the next time (In the first quarter of 2020),” Allardice was quoted as saying by ESPNcricinfo.
“A super over has been used to determine a winner in a tied match in ICC events since 2009 (replacing the bowl-out), and the tie-breaker after a tied super over needed to be derived from something in that particular match. So it has been always related to the number of boundaries scored in the match.”
England edged past New Zealand on the boundary count to win their maiden world cup earlier this month, leading to a massive uproar regarding the rule. In the final at Lord’s on July 14th, England were adjudged winners of the World Cup on the basis of their superior boundary count- 22 fours and two sixes- to New Zealand’s 17 after the match ended in a tie after regulation play and super over.
“Almost all the T20 leagues around the world also use boundaries as the tie-breaker in their super over. We wanted to use the same Super over regulations that are used across all professional cricket and that’s why it was the way it was. Whether it should be different is something that our cricket committee will consider at some point,” Allardice said.
The information contained in this article is for educational and informational purposes only and is not intended as a health advice. We would ask you to consult a qualified professional or medical expert to gain additional knowledge before you choose to consume any product or perform any exercise.