At the Indian Grand Prix 1 2024 athletics meet held at Sree Kanteerava Stadium in Bengaluru, Praveen Chithravel and Shaili Singh emerged as gold medalists in their respective events.

Praveen Chithravel, a triple jumper who secured a bronze medal at the Asian Games last year, clinched the gold medal in the men’s triple jump event. He outperformed Commonwealth Games champion Eldhose Paul with a leap of 17.12m, while Paul settled for the silver with a jump of 16.29m. Although Chithravel holds the national record in the men’s triple jump, he is yet to meet the Olympic entry standard of 17.22m. Despite this, his victory at the Indian Grand Prix is a significant step forward in his Olympic journey.

Shaili Singh, a promising long jump athlete and silver medalist at the World U20 Championships, secured the gold medal in the women’s long jump event. She achieved a distance of 6.52m on her first attempt, surpassing two-time national champion Nayana James, who settled for the silver with a jump of 6.44m. Both Shaili Singh and Nayana James are aiming to achieve the Olympic qualifying mark of 6.86m.

In the men’s javelin throw event, Manu DP emerged victorious with a throw of 81.91m, clinching the gold medal. Despite missing the entry standard for the Olympics set at 85.50m, Manu DP showcased his talent in the competition. Notably, star javelin throwers Neeraj Chopra and Kishore Jena did not compete in this event.

Hima Das, who recently returned to action after being cleared by the National Anti-Doping Agency (NADA), faced a setback during the women’s 200m race. Despite her return to competitive action, she had to pull up in the middle of the race, resulting in a Did Not Finish (DNF). Chelimi emerged victorious in the event with a time of 23.92 seconds. This marked Hima Das’ first race since March last year, where she won the 200m gold at the Indian Grand Prix in Bengaluru.

Indian Grand Prix 1 athletics medal winners:


  • 100m: 1. Animesh Kujur; 2. Lalu Prasad Bhoi; 3. Gitson I
  • 200m: 1. Animesh Kujur; 2. Jay Shah; 3. Nalubothu Shanumaga S
  • 800m: 1. Ankesh Chaudhary; 2. Mohammed Afsal P; 3. Sree Kiran
  • 3000m steeplechase: 1. Shankar Lal Swami; 2. Ashok Dandasena
  • High jump: 1. Jesse Sandesh; 2. Aadarsh Ram; 3. Sudeep
  • Long jump: 1. Aditya Kumar Singh; 2. Aravinth E; 3. Arya S
  • Triple jump: 1. Praveen Chithravel; 2. Eldhose Paul; 3. Mohammed Salahuddin S
  • Javelin throw: 1. Manu DP; 2. Uttam Balasaheb Patil; 3. Vikas Yadav


  • 100m: 1. Nithya Gandhe; 2. Srabani Nanda; 3. V Sudheeksha
  • 200m: 1. Chelimi; 2. Vismaya VK; 3, Nithya Gandhe
  • 800m: 1. Laxmipriya Kisan; 2. Arpitha EB; 3. Shivani Kumari
  • 3000m steeplechase: 1. Sonam; 2. Nikita; 3. Susmita Tigga
  • High jump: 1. Abhinaya Shetty; 2. Mohur Mukherjee
  • Long jump: 1. Shaili Singh; 2. Nayana James; 3. Susmita
  • Triple jump: 1. Sheena NV; 2. Gayathry Sivakumar; 3. Sharvari Parule
  • Shot put: 1. Abha Khatua; 2. Ambika V
  • Javelin throw: 1. Rashmi K; 2. Ramyashree Jain; 3. Vishakha Panwar


The information contained in this article is for educational and informational purposes only and is not intended as a health advice. We would ask you to consult a qualified professional or medical expert to gain additional knowledge before you choose to consume any product or perform any exercise.

Write A Comment

10 − two =


By navigating our site, you agree to allow us to use cookies, in accordance with our Privacy Policy.