India has secured multiple athletics quotas for the Paris 2024 Olympics through world rankings and entry standards. The qualification window for the athletics events ended on June 30, with the final standings confirmed by World Athletics.

Javelin thrower Annu Rani finished 21st in the Road to Paris rankings, securing her spot among the top 32 athletes. Similarly, Jyothi Yarraji, the national record holder in women’s 100m hurdles, secured her place by finishing 34th in the rankings, within the cutoff of 40.

Tajinderpal Singh Toor, a two-time men’s shot put Asian champion, and Abha Khatua, an Asian Championships silver medallist in women’s shot put, both secured quotas by ranking 23rd in their respective events. The top 32 in these events earned quotas.

Parul Chaudhary secured her spot in the women’s 5000m by ranking 34th, within the cutoff of 42. She also met the qualification standard in the women’s 3000m steeplechase with a time of 9:15.31.

In men’s triple jump, Abdulla Aboobacker and Praveen Chithravel made the cut, ranking 21st and 23rd respectively. Sarvesh Kushare also secured a quota in men’s high jump by finishing 23rd within a cutoff list of 32.

India’s national record holder in men’s long jump, Jeswin Aldrin, finished just outside the cutoff at 33rd but may qualify if Murali Sreeshankar, who is currently seventh but injured, cannot participate.

In men’s 20km race walk, Suraj Panwar secured his quota through the Road to Paris rankings. Akshdeep Singh, Paramjeet Singh Bisht, Ram Baboo, and Vikash Singh met the entry standards, with a maximum of three allowed to compete.

Earlier, India had secured 14 quotas in athletics through entry standards and designated qualifying competitions. National Olympic Committees will have the final say on the representation of these athletes at Paris 2024.

Indians Who Secured Olympic Quotas Through Road to Paris Athletics Rankings:

  • Jyothi Yarraji – Women’s 100m hurdles
  • Annu Rani – Women’s javelin throw
  • Tajinderpal Singh Toor – Men’s shot put
  • Abha Khatua – Women’s shot put
  • Praveen Chithravel – Men’s triple jump
  • Abdulla Aboobacker – Men’s triple jump
  • Sarvesh Kushare – Men’s high jump
  • Parul Chaudhary – Women’s 5000m
  • Suraj Panwar – Men’s 20km race walk


The information contained in this article is for educational and informational purposes only and is not intended as a health advice. We would ask you to consult a qualified professional or medical expert to gain additional knowledge before you choose to consume any product or perform any exercise.

Write A Comment

3 × 3 =


By navigating our site, you agree to allow us to use cookies, in accordance with our Privacy Policy.