The Montreal Tigers secured a victory over the Toronto Nationals in a high-octane cricket match held at the TD Cricket Arena. The match was reduced to six overs a side due to a delayed start caused by a wet outfield. The Tigers’ openers, Chris Lynn and Muhammed Waseem, played sensational strokes in their partnership of 63 runs, setting up a strong total for their team. The Tigers’ bowling attack also put up a solid display to limit the Nationals’ chase.

Batting first after being put into bat by the Nationals, Lynn (38*) and Waseem (24) unleashed a barrage of power hitting. After the two-over powerplay, the Montreal Tigers were at 26/0. The second and third overs proved to be highly productive for the Tigers, with 35 runs coming off them as the opening duo took apart Saad Bin Zafar and Zaman Khan. Sikandar Raza was dispatched for 18 runs soon after. Faheem Ashraf managed to dismiss Mohammad Waseem in the penultimate over, conceding 13 runs. Sherfane Rutherford (8) joined the offense but was run out, and Zaman Khan delivered a top-quality final over, conceding just two runs, limiting the Tigers to 77/2.

In their chase, the Nationals’ openers, Darren Bravo (15) and JJ Smit (16), struggled to find boundaries despite showing intent. Andre Russell, making his first appearance in the tournament, bowled well and turned up the pressure by limiting the Tigers to just nine runs in the third over. Both openers tactically retired out in quick succession to bring in Raza (7) and skipper Hamza Tariq (10). Russell bowled a tight fifth over, conceding only six runs. Facing an insurmountable target of 37 runs in six balls, the Nationals inevitably fell short, finishing at 54/2, giving the Montreal Tigers a dominant 23-run victory.

With this win, the Montreal Tigers moved back to the top of the table with nine points. The first match of the day between the Brampton Wolves and the Mississauga Panthers was abandoned due to a wet outfield, resulting in both teams earning one point each.

Brief Scores: Montreal Tigers – 77/2 in 6 overs (Chris Lynn – 38 runs in 18 balls, Muhammad Waseem – 24 runs in 13 balls, Faheem Ashraf – 1/13 in one over, Fazalhaq Farooqi – 0/8 in one over, Zaman Khan – 0/20 in two overs) Toronto Nationals – 54/2 in 6 overs (JJ Smit – 16 runs in nine balls, Darren Bravo – 15 runs in 15 balls, Kaleem Sana – 0/1 in one over, Muhammad Afridi – 0/6 in over, Andre Russell – 0/15 in two overs)


The information contained in this article is for educational and informational purposes only and is not intended as a health advice. We would ask you to consult a qualified professional or medical expert to gain additional knowledge before you choose to consume any product or perform any exercise.

Write A Comment

3 × five =


By navigating our site, you agree to allow us to use cookies, in accordance with our Privacy Policy.