IPL 2022 mega auction is scheduled to be held in last week of December or first week of January. Prior to that all the existing  eight franchises have announced the names of the players retained by them and submitted the list to the authority. Adding to this new teams Ahmedabad and Lucknow will be allowed to pick from the pool available. New teams will be picking 3 players each until December 25.

Collosal number of stalwarts are still in their respective teams rather some surprising names are also in dropped out list.

According to the rules and regulation enlisted to govern IPL goes like, every team has retention rights of certain number of players who were most beneficial to them in the current season. Presently the number of players to be held back in the brigade is capped 4 players per team. IPL teams generally vouch on purple cap holder, orange cap holder and all round performers and retain them to carry on in the upcoming seasons.

While the eight teams were allowed to retain four players each Mumbai Indians (MI), Chennai Super Kings (CSK), Delhi Capitals (DC), and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) have opted to retain four players each. Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), Rajasthan Royals (RR) and Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) have retained three players each, while Punjab Kings (PBKS) have retained just two players.


MI has retained multiple-title-winning skipper Rohit Sharma, along with fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah, and batsman Suryakumar Yadav and West Indian all-rounder Kieron Pollard is the overseas player they are holding back.

CSK, the defending champions have retained Ravindra Jadeja, the cool dude captain MSD , the run machine and orange cap holder for 2021, Rituraj Gaikawad. while appalling was they have given preference to Moeen Ali over south African blaster Faf du plesis.

KKR, team from Bollywood bellies has retained Sunil Naraine, Andre Russell, Venkatesh Iyer and Varun Chakravarty. RCB, apart from Virat Kohli and Mohammed Siraj has retained power hitter Glenn Maxwell.


Delhi Capitals have retained three Indian players Rishabh Pant, Axar Patel and Prithvi Shaw while pacer Anrich Nortje is their only oversea pick. Sanju Samson, Jos Buttler and Yashasvi Jaiswal are picks from RR.

The Hyderabad side also retained their captain Kane Williamson. The other two names came as a bit of surprise – fast bowler Umran Malik and batting all-rounder Abdul Samad. With their present skipper KL Rahul opting to enter the IPL mega auction 2022, the Mohali side picked batsman Mayank Agarwal and one of the revelations of IPL 2021 – left arm fast bowler Arshdeep Singh.


The information contained in this article is for educational and informational purposes only and is not intended as a health advice. We would ask you to consult a qualified professional or medical expert to gain additional knowledge before you choose to consume any product or perform any exercise.

Write A Comment

nineteen − 19 =


By navigating our site, you agree to allow us to use cookies, in accordance with our Privacy Policy.