The Asian Football Confederation (AFC) has notified its Member Associations that, in line with Article 32.1 of the AFC Statutes, the election for the members of the AFC Executive Committee (for a four-year term, 2019 – 2023) will be held at the 29th AFC Congress in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia on April 6, 2019.

The positions for which the elections will be held are:

  • AFC President and FIFA Vice President;
  • Five AFC Vice Presidents;
  • Six FIFA Council Members, one of whom shall also be an AFC Female Executive Committee Member;
  • A total of five AFC Female Executive Committee Members, one of whom shall also be a FIFA Council member; and
  • A further nine AFC Executive Committee members.

Nomination forms must be submitted to the AFC General Secretariat by no later than 24.00 hours (midnight – Malaysia time) on December 6, 2018.

Under Article 38.2 of the AFC Statutes, candidates for the position of AFC President must be nominated by three Member Associations, but not necessarily by their own Member Association. Article 30 (5) of the FIFA Statutes provides that each confederation President shall be a Vice-President ex-officio of the FIFA Council.

All other candidates for election to the AFC Executive Committee shall be proposed by their Member Association, including candidates for positions on the FIFA Council.

Member Associations can only propose one candidate for each position in the AFC Executive Committee and no Member Association can be represented by more than one member in the AFC Executive Committee. If a Member Association proposes more than one candidate for a position, all candidates proposed by that Member Association shall be declared invalid.

In accordance with Articles 27(5) and 30 (6) of the FIFA Statutes, candidates for positions on the FIFA Council will be subject to eligibility checks carried out by the FIFA Review Committee. In all other cases, pursuant to Article 9 of the AFC Electoral Code, the AFC Electoral Committee shall carry out eligibility checks and decide on the eligibility of the candidates.

The AFC Electoral Committee shall comprise Chairperson F Randall Cunliffe (Guam), and Deputy Chairpersons Lim Kia Tong (Singapore) and Andrew Hunter (Hong Kong).

The AFC Electoral Committee will be responsible for all tasks relating to the organisation, running and supervision of the elections.


The information contained in this article is for educational and informational purposes only and is not intended as a health advice. We would ask you to consult a qualified professional or medical expert to gain additional knowledge before you choose to consume any product or perform any exercise.


Sportz Business is a vivid one stop online source protracting all the exclusive affairs of the Sports Goods & Fitness Industry. We have well accomplished on delivering expert views, reviews, and stories empowering millions with impartial and nonpareil opinions. Sports, Fitness & Wellness has become an inexorable part of our daily lifestyle and with Sportz Business expertise, millions of intriguers everyday are finding for itself a crony hangout zone.

Write A Comment

18 − 6 =


By navigating our site, you agree to allow us to use cookies, in accordance with our Privacy Policy.