Indian Hockey Team is all set to rally in the Asian Champions Trophy 2021. Indian Hockey Team led by Captain Manpreet Singh, will embark on their journey in the tournament stating from December 14, 2021 in Dhaka. twenty ,ember contingent seems all bucked up while the team is lacking veteran goalkeeper PR Sreejesh.

Indian Hockey Team, which has won the previous edition of the game has its first fixture in the face of South Korea commencing on the game’s opening day. Asian Championship Trophy is a single pool game celebrated with teams such as Pakistan, Japan, Malaysia and Bangladesh.

Harmanpreet Singh will be Manpreet’s deputy.

The forward-line will be led by Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Dilpreet Singh, Gursahibjit Singh and Shilanand Lakra.

Chief Coach Graham Reid, has told the press that team selection is done by keeping in mind the jam packed schedule of Indian Hockey Team in 2022 session. Notably Indian side is going to play in the Asian Games in Hangzhou, China — which is the automatic qualification event for the 2024 Paris Olympics — and also the FIH Pro League and possibly the Commonwealth Games.

“While selecting this team we now must have our eyes on the future. It takes a deep and strong squad to build sustained success so players have to be given opportunities to perform,” said Reid.

“We have picked a team that has a good mix of experience and younger guys who will have their chance to show what they can do. It is a hectic match schedule and given the COVID situation, FIH (international hockey federation) and AHF (Asian Hockey Federation) have allowed 18 players to be chosen each game out of a greater squad of 20.

“The Asian Champions Trophy is a world-class event that will provide all teams a fantastic opportunity to start the next Olympiad (Olympic Games) with much-needed competition. We are looking forward to the challenge,” he further added.

India will play their second match against Bangladesh on December 15. Their third match will be against arch-rivals Pakistan on December 17 and on December 18, India will take on Malaysia followed by their match against Japan on December 19. The semifinals will be played on December 21 followed by the Final on December 22.

In the previous edition of the event held in Muscat, Oman, India had jointly lifted the title along with Pakistan as the final was called off due to incessant rains.


The information contained in this article is for educational and informational purposes only and is not intended as a health advice. We would ask you to consult a qualified professional or medical expert to gain additional knowledge before you choose to consume any product or perform any exercise.

Write A Comment

14 − 12 =


By navigating our site, you agree to allow us to use cookies, in accordance with our Privacy Policy.